Tax incentives and/or other incentives for drivers of electric vehicles in 32524.
Insurance companies may not impose surcharges on EVs based on factors such as new technology, passenger payload, weight-to-horsepower ratio, and the types of material used to manufacture the vehicle, unless the Florida Office of Insurance Regulation receives actuarial data that determines the surcharges are justified. (Reference Florida Statutes 627.06535)
A low-speed vehicle, including a neighborhood electric vehicle, is defined as any four-wheeled vehicle that is capable of operating at a speed of at least 20 miles per hour (mph), but not greater than 25 mph. Low-speed vehicle operators must comply with the safety standards in Title 49 of the U.S. Code of Federal Regulations, section 571.500, and Florida Statutes 316.2122, and license the vehicle as required under state guidelines. Seasonal delivery personnel may only use low-speed vehicles during certain yearly timeframes. Additional safety standards and conditions apply. (Reference Florida Statutes 316.2122, 316.2126, 320.01, and 320.0847)
A person may not stop, stand, or park a vehicle that is not capable of using EVSE in a parking space designated for plug-in electric vehicles. To allow for consistency for consumers and the industry, the Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services must adopt additional rules to provide definitions, methods of sale, labeling requirements, and price-posting requirements for EVSE. (Reference Florida Statutes 366.94)
Orlando Utilities Commission (OUC) provides rebates of $200 to residential customers who purchase or lease an eligible new or preowned PEV. Applicants must apply within six months of the purchase or lease of the PEV. For more information, see the OUC Electric Vehicles website.
Condominium associations may not prohibit or restrict the installation or use of EVSE in a homeowner's designated parking space. Condominium associations may put reasonable restrictions on EVSE, but the policies may not significantly increase the cost of the EVSE or prohibit installation. Homeowners may be required to comply with applicable safety codes and architectural standards, engage a licensed installation contractor, provide a certificate of insurance, and reimburse the cost of any increased insurance premium associated with the EVSE. The homeowner of the parking space equipped with EVSE is responsible for the cost of the installation, operation, maintenance, repair, removal, or replacement of the station, as well as any resulting damage to the EVSE or surrounding area. (Reference Florida Statutes 718.113)
Kissimmee Utility Authority (KUA) provides rebates of $100 to residential customers for the purchase of a new EV and $100 for the purchase and installation of a home EVSE. The EV must be registered to the customer’s address and a proof of purchase is required. The EVSE must be installed by a licensed electrical contractor and must meet all state and local codes. Rebates are limited to one rebate per vehicle and one EVSE rebate per household. For more information, see the KUA Rebates and Participating Contractors website.
Florida utilities joined the National Electric Highway Coalition (NEHC), committing to create a network of direct current fast (DC Fast) charging stations connecting major highway systems from the Atlantic Coast to the Pacific of the United States. NEHC utility members agree to ensure efficient and effective fast charging deployment plans that enable long distance EV travel, avoiding duplication among coalition utilities, and complement existing corridor DC fast charging sites. For more information, including a list of participating utilities and states, see the NEHC website.
A comprehensive list of electric vehicle (EV) charging stations in or near 32524 (Pensacola, FL). Search and compare EV charging stations in communities across the U.S., and find a local station when you need to charge your electric car.