Find electric vehicle (EV) charging stations in communities across Oregon. Find a local station when you need to charge your electric car. Compare Oregon EV charging stations and find one that suits your needs.
Tax incentives and/or other incentives for drivers of electric vehicles in OR.
Dedicated original equipment manufacturer natural gas vehicles and all-electric vehicles are not required to be equipped with a certified pollution control system. (Reference Oregon Revised Statutes 815.300)
A low-speed vehicle is defined as a four-wheeled motor vehicle capable of reaching speeds of more than 20 miles per hour (mph) but not more than 25 mph. A low-speed vehicle may not operate on a highway that has a posted speed limit of more than 35 mph. A medium-speed EV is defined as a four-wheeled electric motor vehicle that is equipped with a roll cage or a crushproof body design and is capable of reaching speeds of up to 35 mph. A medium-speed EV may not operate on a highway that has a posted speed limit of more than 45 mph. A city or county may adopt ordinances that allow the operation of low-speed vehicles or medium-speed EVs on city streets or county roads that have posted speed limits greater than 35 mph and 45 mph, respectively. Low-speed vehicles and medium-speed EVs must comply with certain standards contained in Title 49 of the U.S. Code of Federal Regulations, section 571.500. (Reference Oregon Administrative Rules 737-010-0010, and Oregon Revised Statutes 801.331, 801.341, 811.512, and 811.513)
A vehicle equipped with a fully functional idle reduction system designed to reduce fuel use and emissions from engine idling may exceed the maximum weight limitations by up to 550 pounds (lbs.) to accommodate the added weight of the idle reduction technology. Any natural gas vehicle or plug-in electric vehicle may exceed the limits by up to 2,000 lbs. (Reference Oregon Revised Statutes 818.030)
The owner of a lot in a planned community or unit in a condominium may apply to install EVSE for their personal use in a parking space subject to the exclusive use of the owner. The homeowners association (HOA) must approve a complete application within 60 days. The owner is responsible for all costs associated with the EVSE installation and use, must disclose the existence of the EVSE and related responsibilities to a prospective buyer, and must ensure that the infrastructure meets insurance and safety requirements. EVSE installed under these regulations on or before June 4, 2015, is considered to be the personal property of the lot or unit owner with which the EVSE is associated, unless the owner and HOA have negotiated a different outcome. Additional requirements and restrictions apply. (Reference Oregon Revised Statutes 94.762 and 100.627)
An individual is not allowed to park a motor vehicle within any parking space specifically designated for public parking and fueling of AFVs unless the motor vehicle is an AFV fueled by electricity, natural gas, methanol, propane, gasoline blended with at least 85% ethanol (E85), or other fuel the Oregon Department of Energy approves. Eligible AFVs must also be in the process of fueling or charging to park in the space. A person found responsible for a violation is subject to traffic violation penalties. (Reference Oregon Revised Statutes 811.587 and 469B.100)
All-electric vehicle (EV) owners must pay an annual fee of $110 or a per-mile road use fee, administered by the OReGo program. Beginning January 1, 2022, EV owners must pay a fee of $115. Medium-speed EV owners must pay an annual fee of $58. All other hybrid vehicles must pay an annual fee in the following amounts:
|Vehicle Efficiency||January 1, 2020, through December 31, 2021||After December 31, 2021|
|Vehicles with a rating of 0-19 miles per gallon (mpg)||$18||$20|
|Vehicles with a rating of 20-39 mpg||$23||$25|
|Vehicles with a rating of 40 mpg or greater||$33||$35|
The monthly per-mile road use fee, as an alternative to the annual fees, is determined by the schedule below:
|Calendar Year||Fee per Mile|
|2020||$0.018 per mile|
|2022||$0.019 per mile|
Drivers with electric vehicles or vehicles with ratings over 40 mpg are exempt from additional registration fees if they enroll in the OReGo program. For more information, including how to apply, visit the OReGo program website. These fees are in addition to standard registration fees.
(Reference Oregon Revised Statutes 803.420 through 803.422)
The tenant of a commercial space may apply to install EVSE for the use of the tenant, employees of the tenant, and customers of the tenant. Unless the premises does not have at least one parking space per rental unit, the landlord must approve a completed application no more than 60 days after the tenant submits the application. In the absence of a different tenant-landlord agreement, the EVSE will be personal property of the tenant and the tenant is responsible for all costs associated with installation and use of the EVSE. The tenant is responsible for maintaining a renter's liability insurance policy of at least $100,000. Upon the termination of the rental agreement, the landlord may require the tenant to remove the charging station and restore the premises. Additional requirements and restrictions apply. (Reference Oregon Revised Statutes 90.462)
The Clean Vehicle Rebate Program provides rebates to Oregon residents, businesses, non-profit organizations, and government agencies for the purchase or lease of PHEVs and ZEVs, including fuel cell electric vehicles (FCEVs) and plug-in electric vehicles (PEVs). New ZEVs and PHEVs with a battery capacity greater than 10 kilowatt-hours (kWh) are eligible for a rebate of $2,500. New ZEVs and PHEVs with a battery capacity of less than 10 kWh are eligible for a rebate of $1,500.
New zero-emission electric motorcycles are eligible for a rebate of $750. Eligible PHEVs and PEVs may not have an MSRP of more than $50,000 and eligible FCEVs may not have an MSRP of more than $60,000. For more information, see the Clean Vehicle Rebate Program website.
(Reference House Bill 2165, 2021)
Central Lincoln offers residential and commercial customers a rebate of $250 to purchase a Level 2 EVSE. Eligible EVSE must be purchased on or after July 1, 2018. Applicants are limited to one rebate per location. For more information, including the application, please visit the Central Lincoln website.
EPUD customers are eligible for a $100 incentive to register their new or used PEV with EPUD. For more information, including eligibility requirements and application, visit the EPUD website.