Electric Vehicle (EV) Stations in Oklahoma

Please select a city below:

Electric Vehicle (EV) Charging Stations in Oklahoma

Find electric vehicle (EV) charging stations in communities across Oklahoma. Find a local station when you need to charge your electric car. Compare Oklahoma EV charging stations and find one that suits your needs.

Solar power for your home
Solar power for your home

Electric Vehicle (EV) Incentives in Oklahoma

Tax incentives and/or other incentives for drivers of electric vehicles in OK.


Low- and Medium-Speed Vehicle Access to Roadways

A low-speed electric vehicle (EV) is any four-wheeled EV powered by an electric motor that draws current from rechargeable storage batteries or other sources of electric current and whose top speed is greater than 20 miles per hour (mph) but not greater than 25 mph. Low-speed EVs may not operate on streets or highways with posted speed limits greater than 35 mph but may cross a street or highway with a posted speed limit greater than 35 mph.

A medium-speed EV is defined as any self-propelled, electrically powered four-wheeled motor vehicle, whose top speed is greater than 30 miles per hour (mph) but not greater than 35 mph. Medium-speed EVs must be registered according to the Oklahoma Vehicle License and Registration Act. Medium-speed EVs may operate on roadways with a posted speed limit of up to 45 mph but are not permitted to travel on any highway in the state that is a part of the National System of Interstate and Defense Highways. Low- and medium-speed EVs must meet the safety standards specified in Title 49 of the Code of Federal Regulations, section 571.500.

(Reference Oklahoma Statutes 47-11-805.1, 47-1102, and 47-1151.4)


Natural Gas Vehicle and Idle Reduction Weight Exemption

A vehicle powered in whole or part by natural gas, electricity, or hydrogen may exceed the state’s gross and axle weight limits by up to 2,000 pounds (lbs.), equal to the difference between the weight of the vehicle with the natural gas tank, battery, or hydrogen fueling system and the weight of a comparable diesel tank and fueling system. The exemption is allowed on all state roads and interstate highways, as defined in Title 23 of the Code of Federal Regulations section 127(s).

Any vehicle equipped with idle reduction technology may exceed the state’s gross vehicle weight limits by up to 400 lbs. to compensate for the additional weight of the idle reduction technology. The additional weight may not exceed the actual certified weight of the idle reduction unit. Upon request, vehicle operators must provide proof or certification of the weight of the idle reduction technology and proof that the idle reduction technology is fully functional.

(Reference House Bill 3054, 2022, Oklahoma Statutes 47-14-109, and Oklahoma Statutes 47-14-109.3)


Electric Vehicle (EV) Charging Station Rebate – Public Service Company of Oklahoma (PSO)

PSO offers a rebate of up to $250 to residential customers for an ENERGY STAR certified Level 2 EV charging station. Eligible charging stations must be new and purchased in Oklahoma. For more information, including the application, see the PSO EV Charger website.


Electric Vehicle (EV) Rebate – Oklahoma Electric Cooperative (OEC)

OEC offers a rebate of up to $200 for customers who own an EV. Eligible customers must own a Level 2 EV charging station and schedule vehicle charging during off-peak hours. For more information, see the OEC Energy Efficiency Rebates website.


Electric Vehicle (EV) Charging Station Charging Tax

Beginning January 1, 2024, public EV charging stations are subject to a tax of $0.03 per kilowatt-hour. The tax does not apply to EV charging stations at private residences. Tax revenue will be apportioned to the Driving on Road Infrastructure with Vehicles of Electricity (DRIVE) Revolving Fund. Oklahoma residents may apply EV charging station tax payments as income tax credits and may be carried forward for up to five years.

(Reference Oklahoma Statutes 68-6501 through 68-6510)


Electric Vehicle (EV) and Plug-In Hybrid Electric Vehicle (PHEV) Fee

EV owners must pay an annual vehicle registration fee in addition to standard vehicle registration fees. Fee amounts vary depending on the gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) of the vehicle:

GVWR Annual EV Registration Fee Annual PHEV Registration Fee
6,000 pounds (lbs.) or below $110 $82
6,001 lbs. to 10,000 lbs. $158 $118
10,001 lbs. to 26,500 lbs. $363 $272
Greater than 26,501 lbs. $2,250 $1,697

The revenue from the annual fee will be apportioned to the Driving on Road Infrastructure with Vehicles of Electricity (DRIVE) Revolving Fund.

(Reference Oklahoma Statutes 68-6511)


Electric Vehicle (EV) Infrastructure Support

Oklahoma utilities joined the National Electric Highway Coalition (NEHC), committing to create a network of direct current fast charging (DCFC) stations connecting major highway systems from the Atlantic Coast to the Pacific of the United States. NEHC utility members agree to ensure efficient and effective fast charging deployment plans that enable long distance EV travel, avoiding duplication among coalition utilities, and complement existing corridor DCFC sites. For more information, including a list of participating utilities and states, see the NEHC website.


Oklahoma ZIP Codes


Go
[ X ]

Is solar right for your home?

Take the first step toward powering your home with solar energy.

Start now with an online solar savings estimate.